Petroleum County :: 302 East Main :: Post Office Box 226 :: Winnett, MT 59087-0226 :: (406) 429-5551

Petroleum County Treasurer

Treasurer
E: PCOtreasurer@midrivers.com

Deputy Treasurer - Dawn DuBeau
E: petco@midrivers.com

Treasurer Office
302 East Main
Post Office Box 226
Winnett, MT 59087-0226
Phone: (406)429-5551
Fax: (406)429-6328

The Petroleum County Treasurer’s Office provides quality services to the residents of Petroleum County through encouraging public involvement, communication, and teamwork to build a strong and innovative community.

The County Treasurer is responsible for:

Motor Vehicle
1. Registration Renewals
2. Titles
3. License Plate Options
4. Motor Vehicle Forms

Property Taxes
1. Real Estate
2. Personal Property
3. Mobile Homes

Links and Forms
Montana License Plate Information: click here
Merlin Online Renewal: click here to register online
Downloadable Motor Vehicle Forms: click here

Motor Vehicle Renewals
Vehicle renewals are done at the County Treasurer’s office between 8 am and 5 pm by check, cash, by mail renewal or on the new Merlin Online Renewal system. To renew with the Merlin Online Renewal system have your renewal card or registration available. Tabs and registration receipts will be mailed the following day after correct payment has been received.

Mail Renewal: Send reminder card from State of MT or registration and $1 per registration mailing fee.

Titles
Titling paperwork will be sent to the treasurer’s office from your auto dealer. We will contact you when the paperwork is received. If you are purchasing from a private individual the following paperwork will be required:
1. Montana Title or
2. Out of State Title or
3. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)
4. Copy of loan contract
5. Other supporting documents

New residents may use a valid driver’s license and vehicle registration from their former state for up to 30 days.

It is unlawful to operate a motorized vehicle in the State of Montana without valid vehicle liability insurance, certificate of self-insurance or posted indemnity.

License Plate Options
The County Treasurer will issue standard plates to all vehicle owners unless they request otherwise.

Property Taxes
Failure to receive a property tax statement does not exempt the taxpayer from timely payment of the taxes due.

Real Estate
• First installment - November 30
• Second installment - May 31

Property tax bills are mailed in October of each year to the owner of record, as their name and mailing address appears on the tax roll. The tax roll is prepared and maintained by the State of Montana, Department of Revenue, Assessor’s Office.

If you have not received a tax statement by November 1st, please contact the Treasurer’s Office to request a duplicate statement or to request an address change.

Taxes on real estate may be paid in two installments, the first installment on or before November 30 of each year, the second installment on or before May 31 of the following year. If the first installment is not paid or postmarked on or before November 30 then the amount of this first installment only becomes delinquent. If the second installment is not paid or postmarked on or before May 3, then the amount of this second installment only becomes delinquent. When either installment becomes delinquent a penalty of 2% will be immediately added, together with interest at the rate of 10% per annum, until paid. Both installments may be paid at one time, on or before November 30.

Your property may qualify for Property Tax Assistance Program, this may include: Property Tax Assistance Disable or Deceased Veteran’s Residential Exemption, the Extended Property Tax Assistance Program and/or Elderly Homeowner’s Tax Credit. Contact the Montana Department of Revenue at 406-485-3565 for further information.

Personal Property Taxes
Due within 30 days after the notice is mailed.

Taxes on personal property are paid in one payment. The treasurer must within 30 days after the notice is mailed to the taxpayer, collect same by seizure and sale of property if tax is not paid. If not paid within 30 days the tax becomes delinquent and a 2% penalty and 10% interest per annum must be added.

Mobile Home Taxes
• First installment due - May 31
• Second installment due - November 30

If not paid or postmarked by 5 pm on the due date the tax becomes delinquent and a 2% penalty and 10% interest per annum must be added.